Yolanda Oertel Interventional Cytopathologist Award

The Yolanda Oertel Interventional Cytopathologist Award is an annual award started to acknowledge the contribution of pathologists to the fine needle aspiration service. The award recognizes those who promote the use of fine needle aspiration, and encourage other pathologists to utilize fine needle aspiration. Any cytopathologist promoting or utilizing the fine needle aspiration service is eligible for the award.  An international candidate will be considered once every four (4) years at a minimum.

The 2023 Yolanda Oertel Interventional Cytopathologist Award Recipient

Prof. Beata Bode-Lesniewska, MD

Dr. Bode-Lesniewska is a Senior Pathologist at the Pathology Institut Enge, Zurich, Switzerland. Before this position, Dr. Bode-Lesniewska was a long-time staff pathologist and the Head of the Division of Cytology at the Institute of Pathology and Molecular Pathology of the University Hospital in Zurich, Switzerland. Dr. Bode-Lesniewska is a past President of the Swiss Society of Cytology (2009-2015).

Dr. Bode-Lesniewska’s fields of interest and expertise encompasses the whole spectrum of diagnostic cytopathology, implementation of interventional cytopathology (including ultrasound guided fine needle aspiration), application of ancillary methods to cytologic specimens, and educational activities and training of residents and fellows.   Dr. Bode-Lesniewska has a special interest in bone and soft tissue pathology with clinical, imaging, histopathology, and molecular pathology correlations.