Dear Members of the PSC:

Ever year PSC presents two awards to the cytopathologists in recognition of their work at our annual meeting.

The awards committee is now accepting nominations for these awards to be presented at the 2024 Companion Meeting at USCAP.

*The Educator of the Year Award* – This award is presented to a Pathologist in recognition of his/her meritorious service, and contributions to the field of cytopathology education. It is presented during the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology Companion Meeting held during the annual meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology.

Nominees for this award should have demonstrated significant contributions to the field of cytopathology education, including but not limited to: active participation in, or development of, exemplary training programs and educational activities at the state, regional and national levels. Any member of the Society may submit nominations to the Award Committee for consideration.

*The Yolanda Oertel Interventional Cytopathologist Award* –  This annual award was started to acknowledge the contribution of pathologists to the fine needle aspiration service. It recognizes those who promote the use of fine needle aspiration, and encourage other pathologists to utilize fine needle aspiration.

*Lifetime Achievement Award* –  This award is presented to a Pathologist in recognition of his/her Lifetime meritorious service, and contributions to Pathology and Cytopathology.

Any cytopathologist promoting or utilizing the fine needle aspiration service is eligible for the award. An international candidate will be considered once every four (4) years at a minimum.

Please nominate for one or both of these awards and submit-

  • CV of the nominee
  • A photograph of the nominee
  • A statement regarding the accomplishments of the nominee

The above information will be distributed to the Awards Committee who will decide upon the winners. The winners will then be approved by the Executive Board and Officers of the Society.