2022 Committees, Task Forces & Representatives

This Committee shall review these by-laws every six years. It may also entertain any motions to alter the by-laws triggered by the membership and the executive board

Matthew A. Zarka
Claire Michael
Aziza Nassar

This Committee shall be responsible for design, organization, and conduct of the scientific meetings and other educational efforts of the Society. This committee will also seek to develop, submit proposal, and obtain feedback of companion scientific programs and/or presentations at various national and regional pathology societies, including:

Companion Scientific Session at USCAP Annual Meeting
Companion Educational Lunch Session at ASC
Companion Scientific Session at ASCP
Collaborate in Annual Papanicolaou Cytopathology Course- as needed

Lester Layfield (Chair)
Matthew A. Zarka
Zubair Baloch
Claire Michael
David Chhieng

The Nominating Committee shall consist of at least two (2) immediate Past-Presidents of the Society. The most immediate Past-President of the Society shall be the Chair of this Committee. The Nominating Committee shall submit the names of nominees to offices elected by the membership (President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and members at large positions). Nominees for President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer should have preferably served on the Board of Directors. Any member of the Society may submit nominations to this Committee for consideration. The Nominating Committee shall make its recommendations to the Board of Directors at least ninety (90) days before the Annual Meeting at which they are to be considered.

The Nominating Committee shall make at least two (2) nominations for President-Elect and at least one (1) nomination for each of the remaining positions on the Board of Directors eligible to be filled by vote of the voting members.

The report of the Nominating Committee will be submitted at least thirty (30) days prior to the next Annual Meeting to the voting membership, and election will be by majority vote of the voting members by mail/Fax/e-mail ballot.

Matthew Zarka (Chair)
David Chhieng
Tarik Elsheikh
Zubair Baloch
Marianne Engels

Marino E. Leon, M.D. (Chair)
Marianne Engels
Kartik Viswanathan
Lorelle Carlley

The committee shall work with the Treasurer to ensure the financial stability of PSC. Receive requests for budget allocations from PSC Committees and Task Forces. Prepares an annual budget for the ensuing year for review and approval by the Board of Directors. Recommend to the Board of Directors change in fees for the membership in collaboration with the chair of membership committee. Submit a financial report to the Board of Directors. Annually report on the finding of the end-of-year audit by a Certified Public Accountant.

David Chhieng (Chair)
Xiaoqi Lin
Oscar Lin

The committee obtains from USCAP a listing of abstract proposals that have been already accepted by USCAP for its annual national meeting.The Committee reviews and scores/ranks abstracts submitted by first authors in training in the category of “Cytopathology”. The research committee chooses a “first place” and “second place” research awards to pathologists-in-training (residents and fellows) at USCAP meeting, on an annual basis.

Aparna Harbhajanka (Chair)
Philip Bomeisl
William Faquin, MD, PhD
Fadi Salem
David Chheing
Qun Wang

This committee will focus on developing companion scientific programs with international pathology societies and organizations. It will also foster strong relationships with pathology organizations as well as organizations which focus on providing / improving the quality of much needed basic cytology screening services and education.

Zubair Baloch (Co chair)
Fernando Schmitt (Co chair)
Ken Kukado
Claire Michael
Andrew Field
Binur Onal

The Membership Committee shall perform such duties as directed by the Board of Directors to increase membership roster and further the Society’s goals of its members. The committee shall screen and approve new members and will work closely with the secretary treasurer to keep and maintain an updated list of all the paid members of the society. This committee is also in-charge of making sure that all paid members have access (print and online) to the current and the future line up of journals affiliated with PSC.

Michelle Reid (Co-chair, USA and Canada)
Esther Diana Rossi, MD (Co-chair, International)
Jordan Reynolds
Hannah Chen
Ruba Khattab
Sonja Kleb
Chiung-Ru Lai
Wadad Mneimneh

This committee evaluates the effectiveness of the overall PSC CME and CE Programs with scientific program committee and international scientific program committee. The members of this committee are also responsible for soliciting educational content for pathology trainees (residents and fellows) for the PSC website cases of the month.

Anjali Saqi (Chair)
Xin Jing
Ramya Gadde
Helen Yu Zhang
Adela Cimic
Swikrity Upadhyay Baskota
Qiuying Shi
Zesong Zhang
Lagnajita Datta

Poonam Vohra (Chair)
Elham Khanafshar
Hamza Gokozan
Sam Abadri
Dan Lubin
Qiuying Shi
Kelou Yao
Binur Onal
Swikrity Baskota
Connie Chen

Hamza Gokozan, M.D. (Chair)
Xiaoying Liu, MD, MS
Xiaobing, Jin M.D.