L.C. Tao Educator of the Year

The L.C. Tao Educator of the Year Award is presented to a Pathologist in recognition of his/her meritorious service, and contributions to the field of cytopathology education. The award is presented during the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology Companion Meeting held during the annual meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology. The award also includes $1,000.00 made possible by the generosity of Dr. L.C. Tao.

Nominees for this award should have demonstrated significant contributions to the field of cytopathology education, including but not limited to: active participation in, or development of, exemplary training programs and educational activities at the state, regional and national levels. Any member of the Society may submit nominations to the Award Committee for consideration.

The 2023 L.C. Tao Educator of the Year Award

Dr. Chris VandenBussche

Chris VandenBussche is currently an Associate Professor of Pathology and Oncology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, where he serves as the Director of the Pathology Residency Training Program, the Associate Director of Cytopathology, and the Director of the Cytopathology Fellowship. Dr. VandenBussche is a frequent contributor to international reporting systems in cytopathology, which includes contributions to the WHO Reporting System for Pancreaticobiliary Cytopathology. He has published 8 books and over 100 peer-reviewed scientific papers in the field of cytopathology. He serves on numerous editorial boards and is an Associate Editor for Diagnostic Cytopathology, an Assistant Editor for the American Journal Clinical Pathology, and a Section Editor for the Journal of the American Society of Cytopathology.