Research Award

Two Research Awards are offered by the Papanicolaou Society for Cytopathology to pathologists-in-training for abstracts presented at the Annual Meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology.

The abstracts are evaluated for the novelty of the idea presented and the scientific and/or practical value of the topic. Winners are selected by members of the Research Committee.

The awards are presented at the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology Companion Meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology.

To Qualify for the Award:

  1. Abstracts must be based on cytology material
  2. Abstracts must be accepted for platform or poster presentation at the 2006 Annual Meeting of the USCAP.
  3. The potential awardee must be a pathologist-in-training who played a major role in the development of the study and is listed as the first author of the paper.
  4. An application must be received by the PSC Research Award Committee by the deadline.

2020 Recipients

First Place
Amin Heidarian, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

Abstract ID: 1831
Cytology Adds Value to Monoclonal Antibody DAS-1 Testing for Detection of High-Risk Pancreatic Cysts

Authors: Mari Mino-Kenudson, Massachusetts General Hospital; Carlos Fernandez-del Castillo , Massachusetts General Hospital; Martha Pitman, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School; Koushik Das, Washington University
Second Place
Ami Patel MD
Cytopathology Fellow
Weill-Cornell Medicine, New York, NY

Abstract ID: 1206
Next-Generation Sequencing of Cell-Free DNA Extracted from Pleural Effusion Supernatant: Applications and Challenges

Authors: Ami Patel Weill Cornell Medicine; Jonas Heymann, Weill Cornell Medicine; Lucelina Rosado, Weill Cornell Medicine; Hanna Rennert, Weill Cornell Medicine; Momin Siddiqui,Weill Cornell Medicine; Susan Alperstein, Weill Cornell Medicine; Lin Cong, Weill Cornell Medicine